07/10/09

daily diminishing (day 14)

When I was three years old in 1968, my aunt, Sheila, married her high school sweetheart, Buck. This red satin fabric is a remnant from the dresses that my grandmother made for me and my sister to wear in the wedding. We were flower girls. A few weeks later, he was drafted and went to fight in Vietnam. Not too long after that, he stepped on an explosive and died. My mom recently told me her memory of this time, something she had never shared with me. Buck was only 19 years old. The folded flag that was given to my aunt at Buck’s funeral is something that I have never forgotten.

diminish14

~ by cmclaurin on July 10, 2009.

One Response to “07/10/09”

  1. Red seems to me to be an unconventional color for flower girls to wear…a foreshadowing of what was to come…the blood and sorrow of war.

Leave a Reply

 
