10/06/09

daily diminishing (day 102)

This is a postcard from a restaurant in Maggie Valley, NC, that we often went to on family trips there. Growing up, every fall, my family and my grandparents went to Maggie Valley, always staying in the same motel and eating breakfast at this Mountain View Cafeteria. I have so many memories of these trips. My grandparents started going to Maggie Valley many years before I was born, always staying in the same small motel owned and run by the Goodbreads. They became friends with the owners and stayed there until the motel was sold. They still visited the Goodbreads until they died. Breakfast was the important meal each day in the mountains. My grandparents were farmers, so they were in the habit of getting up very early in the morning and, although we hated getting up that early, we were excited to go out into the cold mountain air, headed to the nearby restaurant for biscuits and gravy. Those memories are still clear in my mind and will always be in my heart.

diminish101

~ by cmclaurin on October 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
