10/07/09

daily diminishing (day 103)

I bought this hanging lantern in Sisters, Oregon when I was out there for a residency in 2003. Sisters is a beautiful place, rich with natural beauty and history. The people are rich with stories of their lives. Horse people have interesting, complicatedly simple lives, and I met many people like this in Sisters. In this land of volcanic craters and forest fires, everything seems to be quietly on the edge of something, but there is no fear in what that something might be. For me, this was possibly the most peaceful place I’ve ever been and when I need to escape from life’s challenging moments, I go to Sisters in my head.

diminish100

~ by cmclaurin on October 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
