10/08/09

daily diminishing (day 104)

This sheet music is from my piano recital in 1978. The handwriting at the top is that of my sister, who likely wanted to be sure I remembered what I was learning to play and the date of the recital. My sister is 16 months older than me, making her the boss of me. At least, this is how she thought of herself growing up. I had not wanted piano lessons, but my sister did, and the piano teacher convinced my mother that if she started my sister, then later, I wanted to learn, I would be behind and, therefore, would be jealous. I wanted painting lessons. My mother gave in to the piano teacher’s concerns. So, on Thursday, June 1, 1978, I played “Musetta’s Waltz” at the piano recital.

diminish105

~ by cmclaurin on October 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
