10/17/09

daily diminishing (day 113)

This is another of the skirts that I made. This is the last one.

diminish110

~ by cmclaurin on October 17, 2009.

One Response to “10/17/09”

  1. This has two meanings two me.

    1) I grew up in a small town of 600 people and no one was artsy here. Finding an artist that didn’t just paint landscapes and crafters where like finding lava in the Himalayas. I would travel to our states “city” of Portland, ME and I would be surrounded in artsy folk. They were the type of people who showed it even through their clothes. I would admire them when holding my mothers hand going into a coffee shop and imagine what it would be like to be like them. When I grew up I always wanted to dress like them with those organic lines, interesting paired fabrics and appliqu├ęs. I hated coffee so I would walk around will Very Vanilla Soy Milk in a paper coffee cup holding it as if it was really hot as if it was full of coffee. And yes the soy milk was actually really cold. This skirt reminds me of the people that I use to, and still do admire from a far.

    2)I love handmade items from strangers. I do craft swaps online just to fill my home with handmade items from around the world. It is an honor when someone is willing to give up something they made with their heart, never see it again, and give another person the honor of having it in their home.

Leave a Reply

 
