10/19/09

daily diminishing (day 115)

This is a small collection of postcards that I’ve had since 1986. They are: a self portrait by artist, Ben Long (1980), and images of his fresco work – two in a small mountain church in West Jefferson, North Carolina, and one, “Ponte Buggianese” in the Santuario di Maria S.S. del Buon Consiglio in Italy. Ben apprenticed with Pietro Annigoni, a portrait and fresco painter. In 1987, I spent several months in Paris, apprenticed to Ben Long. When we learned that I would be going to Paris to study with Ben, my mother, grandmother, and I made the pilgrimage to West Jefferson to see Ben’s frescoes there. I think my studying in Paris with Ben is my family’s proudest moment of me as an artist.

diminish115

~ by cmclaurin on October 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
