10/31/09

daily diminishing (day 127)

This tiny cow was given to me at an antiques show. I found it tucked into a box with other small things and really loved it – it’s flocked, making it especially sweet. When I asked “how much?” I was told to take it. My grandmother use to have a drawer in her kitchen that she called her junk drawer. When my sister and I stayed with her for the day, she would tell us, “If you’re good, I’ll let you find something.” Finding something meant we could search in the junk drawer for a small treasure to take home. That memory of her drawer has always stuck with me and I know it has manifest in my work in ways that I’m not even aware. Discovering this little cow and being told I could take it was like going back to Granny’s kitchen junk drawer and finding something.

diminish127

~ by cmclaurin on October 31, 2009.

One Response to “10/31/09”

  1. so sweet..

Leave a Reply

 
