11/11/09

daily diminishing (day 137)

These sat in the attic of my grandmother’s house, on an old Art Deco style dresser. They are from a time before me and I’ve often wondered about that time and about who my grandmother was then. I only knew her as my “Granny”, but as I got older, I suspected she was much more than that. Now I look at photographs of her, nearly the age I am now, me a baby in her lap and I want to know her. I stare into those photos, hoping to somehow see into her. These vases are so different from anything else in her house. I always remembered them from playing in her attic as a child. They were stored away there, representing a time past and I was curious about them.

diminish135

~ by cmclaurin on November 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
