11/16/09

daily diminishing (day 142)

This is my grandfather’s well-worn plaid shirt. It has absorbed his body. It is hard to let go of things that bear the memory of the body which has inhabited them – clothes, dwellings, shoes, jewelry… I have a clear image in my mind of Papa wearing this shirt, sleeves unbuttoned, cuffs losely rolled. When he died, my family discovered hundreds of neckties, many of which my grandmother had bought for him to match her church outfits. They also found brand new flannel shirts, still in their packaging, never worn.

~ by cmclaurin on November 16, 2009.

One Response to “11/16/09”

  1. don’t give that one to Goodwill. Or I’ll take it.
    xooooo

Leave a Reply

 
