12/27/09

daily diminishing (day 183)

My friend in college, Mary Beth, had an obsession for expensive bath and beauty products. When I visited her in her apartment, she would quietly say, “I want to show you something”, and then would open up an armoire filled with unopened packages of bath salts and gels, soaps, lotions, perfumes, and powders. She loved having these things, just to look at – some sort of security and luxury. I keep even small samples of skincare and body products, even when I know I’m not going to use them. I think that I, too, find some sort of comfort in just having them.

~ by cmclaurin on December 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
