01/31/10

daily diminishing (day 218)

In 1984 my mom made this cross stitch of the house I grew up in most of my life. That year I was a sophmore in college and my brother was the only one left in the house with her and my dad, so maybe she had more time to do things like cross stitch. This past year, my parents moved for the first time since 1967. It is so odd to visit them now in their new home and not to sleep in the same bedroom that I slept in (off and on) for more than 40 years. No one wanted this cross stitch when they moved and it seemed wrong to put it in the donation box — how odd for someone else to have this “Home Sweet Home” of our home.

~ by cmclaurin on January 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
