02/08/10

daily diminishing (day 226)

I bought these candles at a flea market. They are old and discolored and reminded me of the candles used in churches when you light a candle for someone. I am not Catholic, but find that I am drawn to many Catholic images, rituals, and ritual objects. I am curious about this.  I was raised Methodist and the objects used in our church were somehow frightening to me  — the gold metal cross that sat on the altar, the heavy embroidered gold on white drapery, the red velvet lined communion altar, the heavy wooden church furniture…

~ by cmclaurin on February 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
