03/27/10

daily diminishing (day 273)

I do not have a lot of drawings from my childhood. I drew a lot but do not know what happened to them. This is one I kept – a tiny drawing of an owl. I have a box that is filled with the drawings and letters that my neices and nephews have given to me since they started drawing nearly 20 years ago. As each neice or nephew began to send me drawings in the mail, or give them to me when I visited, I hung them up for a while and then carefully stored them in the box. Sometimes I look through them, much like one would look through a box of photographs, remembering how each of these young people were at that time in their lives. Their photographs reveal the exterior, but their drawings and letters share something more of how they were on the inside. I cherish them.

~ by cmclaurin on March 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
